Spring time Chrysanthemum spring rolls with Sunbutter sauce

Loam Agronomics is growing edible Chrysanthemum greens in Houston and when they arrived in my CSA box I was very curious to how they would taste and what I would make with them.  Loam Agronomics clarified to me not all Chrysanthemum greens are edible. These edible ones are the Garland or Shungiku Chrysanthemum variety. To me they tasted almost like a raw or a green mango with a grassy flavor. I had originally planned to saute them with some mushrooms and make a stir fry but their delicious flavor made me want to eat them raw. They needed to be in a fresh recipes so I could enjoy their subtle flavor. Read more about the benefits of eating Chrysanthemum greens here.

IMG_5830

Ingredients:

For the spring rolls:

1 bunch Crysanthemum greens (if not available use your favorite green here)

1 avocado

1 mango

6-8 baby bella mushrooms

6-8 cooked shrimp (optional for vegan option)

1 baby kohlrabi

2-3 small radishes

6-8 Spring roll wrappers ( I use these brown rice wrappers)

 

For the dipping sauce:

1 cup sunflower seed butter (or use any nut butter)

4-5 table spoons coconut vinegar (or use apple cider vinegar)

1 teaspoon coconut nectar (or use maple syrup)

2-3 teaspoons sriracha sauce (add more or less based on your preference)

1/3 cup water (add more for mixing as needed)

2-3 teaspoons coconut aminos

1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger or 4-5 drops of ginger essential oil (if using ginger use a zester to avoid large shred of ginger, if using ginger oil ensure proper quality,  and to learn more about essential oils and the oils  I use please message me on facebook!))

salt to taste

Method:

For the spring rolls first prep all the ingredients that will fill your rolls, slice vegetables and toppings and have the mis en place ready to go. Wash and dry the greens well. It is important to have all the vegetables nice and dry and all prepped.

Feel free to add in other options as well. I would normally load up my spring rolls with fresh cilantro too ( I love cilantro and I did have a fresh bunch in my Loam CSA box too) but just this time I left it out to be able to enjoy the flavor of the Chrysanthemum greens. If you cant find these greens you can use spinach or chard and cilantro or romaine and cilantro

IMG_5831.JPG

Follow the instructions on your spring roll wrapper package. In my case I had two plates, one with water for dipping the wrapper and one for rolling. Take one wrapper at a time. Dip in water to wet well.  Then move to the dry plate, add your fillings. Roll half way, fold in sides and finish rolling. Keep the spring rolls separated with parchment paper to avoid sticking.

For the sauce mix all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Add extra water (a few more tablespoons) if needed. The sauce should be thick for dipping and not too runny.

Dip your spring roll in the sauce and enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

